We lost Trader Joe’s. But we may get Sprouts.

19 Sep

Well, word on the streets is that Sprouts has all but signed the contract to move into the Lake Highlands Town Center in Dallas. And I couldn’t be happier.

Although I’m pretty bummed Trader Joe’s won’t be a mile from my house, the other rumor is they’re going to be fairly local as well (like two miles–I can deal with that).

But once Sprouts signs something, walls can go up and our little town center will be up and running in no time.

So hooray for Lake Highlands.

I love farmers-market type grocery stores like Sprouts and Sunflower. They’re smaller, the lights are friendlier, and they sell the kind of hippy-dippy products and brands I like. And I swear they’re cheaper, at least when compared to Whole Foods. I can’t really compare them to Tom Thumbs, Albertsons(es), Krogers, etc., because those stores don’t typically carry the things I like.

I also feel like I don’t have to be as vigilant when scanning the ingredients labels while shopping at Sprouts and Sunflower (or Trader Joe’s). Maybe it’s branding, maybe it’s the decor, but I feel like I can trust those smaller grocers more.

Anyway, I don’t want to welcome Sprouts just yet. I’d hate to be the jinx that prevents Lake Highlands Town Center from breaking ground. So I’ll just cross my fingers in the meantime.

 

2 Responses to “We lost Trader Joe’s. But we may get Sprouts.”

  1. tara September 19, 2011 at 3:33 PM #

    I love Sprouts. We just got one real close to our place.

  2. kristin September 19, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

    They just converted the Sun Harvest (which I think Whole Foods technically owned) near our place to a Sprouts. It’s okay (especially since I can walk to it), but I think I like Natural Grocer’s better. Both have everything nicely labeled (i.e. vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc). I definitely agree with you on trusting the smaller stores. 🙂

Leave a Reply

