Perhaps I should have said, “Tuna salad salad.”

18 May

I wanted the tuna salad.

That’s a salad which has tuna on top. It was pictured right there in full CMYK on the wall menu.

So I ordered the tuna salad.

“I’ll have the tuna salad, please. The smaller one,” I said through a smile. Always smile at the people touching your food.

I figured that was specific enough. After all, there were two sizes of tuna salad on the menu. One was  bigger than the other. I wanted the less big one.

“Soup?” I was asked.

“No. Just the salad. Please.”

The person taking my order confirmed what I said. And I proceeded through the line.

Another server asked me, “Would you like a salad?”

Odd question seeing as I just ordered a salad for lunch.

“No, thank you,” I said through a smile. Always smile at the people touching your food.

I got to the cashier and he tallied up my order.

“I ordered the small tuna salad and I’ll have a drink.”

“Tuna salad sandwich …” he began.

“No sandwich. Just the tuna salad. The smaller one.”

He confirmed.

As I was paying, a half-sized tuna sandwich appeared before me. I was just going to let it go at this point. But the cashier jumped on that sandwich like a lion on a zebra and got it out of eyesight quickly enough.

“I’ll bring your salad to you in a moment,” he said as he went to go  make my salad himself.

“Thank you.” I said through a smile. Always smile at the people touching your food.

Leave a Reply

