Would I feel bad stabbing it to death?

24 Feb

Vegetarian. Ovatarian. Lacto-tarian. Pescatarian.

Whatever. I’m tired of these labels. Because none of them truly describe my omnivorous nature.

So from now on, I’ll refer to myself as a could-I-stab-it-to-death-atarian.

What is a could-I-stab-it-to-death-atarian? I’m so glad you asked.

Before eating something, anything, I ask myself the following question about each one of the ingredients:

Could I live with myself after stabbing ___ to death?

For example, I can’t make myself eat cows. They have very sweet eyes and I just couldn’t bear to stab one to death. And watch those large, brown orbs go dim.

A shrimp, on the other hand, I could stab to death. Because they’re small and ugly and taste really freaking good with cocktail sauce.

A pig? No, I couldn’t stab a pig to death. They’re charming. Plus the squealing would haunt me Tell-Tale-Heart style.

A mushroom? Give me the nearest pointy thing to stab it with.

An octopus? Hell, no I couldn’t stab an octopus to death. I wouldn’t. They’re freaking smart. On “Nova: Science Now” the other night, one unscrewed a jar! A freaking cephalopod figured out how to unscrew a jar. If I stabbed an octopus, other octopi would seek me out. And then unscrew my head.

A lasagna? Let’s break it down. Pasta (eggs and flour) = Yes. Tomato sauce (pending there’s no chicken broth) = Yes. Olives = Yes. As long as no creatures on my list of can’t-stab-to-death items is in it, I’ll eat it.

Unless, of course, it contains peas. Although I’d gladly stab them to a squishy, gooey death, I’d never eat them. Because peas are disgusting.

7 Responses to “Would I feel bad stabbing it to death?”

  1. Jakethy February 25, 2011 at 7:08 AM #

    Yeah, that term’s a bit of a mouthful, but my plastic co-writers and I like it. ‘May start using it in social gatherings if we have to resort to any kind of label. Personally, I like the idea that before you ever eat another animal, you first have to look one of its kind in the eyes. Wouldn’t work on everybody, but I think it’d thin out the herd a little (pardon the phrase).

    • Queen of Awesome February 25, 2011 at 5:58 PM #

      Thanks, Jakethy. I’m working hard to spread could-I-stab-it-to-death-atarianism. Perhaps I’ll start a cult. You and your molded counterparts are welcome to join.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Texans love sweet tea. I don’t. « - June 20, 2011

    […] wonder what would have happened had I mentioned I was “vegetarian?” Texans like their tea to melt on their […]

  2. Maybe I should have been bitchier. « - October 24, 2011

    […] When I politely told him that I was a strict vegetarian (I wasn’t about to get into the whole could-I-stab-it-to-death-atarian thing), he immediately came up with a fantastic sounding option for me: a chile relleno stuffed […]

  3. I ate french fries for breakfast. Don’t judge me. « - December 14, 2011

    […] hardly ever eat fast food. After all, I can’t. Being a could-I-stab-it-to-death-atarian sort of puts a virtual stone wall around many fast food […]

  4. Hot dog-stuffed crust? You’ve crossed the line, Britian. « - April 11, 2012

    […] Normally, I’m a huge fan of insanely gluttonous foods, even though they usually don’t follow my strict self-inflicted dietary restrictions. […]

  5. No one will warn you about food peer pressure, except me. « - June 13, 2012

    […] as a could-I-stab-it-to-death-a-tarian, I’ve experienced a whole other level of peer pressure. The pressure to eat meat against my […]

Leave a Reply

