Be careful when stuffing stockings.

13 Dec

The other day, I was eating a clementine (and if you’re an avid Yummy Awesome reader, you know how much I freaking love clementines), and I read the accompanying sticker. It said something along the lines of, “Put me in a stocking,” or “Use me as a stocking stuffer.”

This is one of those cute ideas that can make stockings more fun. Unless it’s done wrong.

Like the first time I got oranges in my stocking. They shared the sock with apples (cool), candy (cool), and scented tea lights (not cool).

The candles ended up infusing the oranges. Come to think of it, so did the candy.

It was pretty awful. It’s bad enough trying to eat an orange right after brushing teeth, but try eating an orange with strong notes of artificially flower-scented wax and peppermints. It was like trying to eat the Dollar Store.

So if you’re planning on popping a few fruits into someone’s stocking this year, don’t. That or simply stick to fruit.

 

Orange and mint only works when it's Milano cookies. Trust me.

 

 

3 Responses to “Be careful when stuffing stockings.”

  1. DirtyCanadian December 13, 2010 at 4:46 PM #

    I actually hate finding fruit in my stocking. I love fruit – all kinds of it. (Ok, except persimmons. Ewwwwww and yuck.) And while I make it a habit to eat 2-3 pieces of fruit everyday, on Christmas I don’t want anything to do with it – unless it’s in a pie. I want only good stuff in my stocking. Fun stuff. Sugary stuff. Useless but unique stuff. But no fruit. Please.

    • Queen of Awesome December 13, 2010 at 4:48 PM #

      Persimmon? What kind of weird Canadian fruit is that?

      • DirtyCanadian December 14, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

        Actually it’s an LA thing. And bizarre. Looks like a tomato. Has the texture of a tomato. But it’s BRIGHT orange and tastes like…well, I’m not sure. Kind of sweet. But sometimes tart. I don’t like it. I think because I expect it to taste like a tomato.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persimmon

Leave a Reply

