Jack with my eggnog? Now you’ve gone too far!

9 Dec

I love eggnog. The name is gross, but the drink is so good.

And last night, I was going to have my very first holiday sip of delicious, frothy egg nog.

So I got my glass ready. Removed the cinnamon from the cupboard. And pulled the carton of Schepp’s out of my fridge. But something gave me pause.

I held the eggnog carton up the the soft glow of refrigerator light and glanced at the ingredients.

Of the laundry list of included ingredients, only a few resembled what is supposed to go into eggnog.

But the top two invaders … Corn syrup. Then high-fructose corn syrup.

I didn’t want goddamn corn. I wanted goddamn eggnog!

Dejected, I put the carton back into the fridge. I returned my glass back to its proper place in the cupboard. And I placed the cinnamon with the rest of the spices.

My little broken heart then drank some green tea. Although I’m not even sure what’s in that, either.

Stop putting corn in EVERYTHING!

4 Responses to “Jack with my eggnog? Now you’ve gone too far!”

  1. Cheri November 28, 2011 at 11:20 AM #

    I stumbled on this page while googling “egg nog” and “high fructose corn syrup”. I was hoping to discover some brand I could purchase that did NOT have HFC. Reading your blog sounded exactly like me at the supermarket yesterday, reading the ingredient list on all the cartons, then walking away disappointed. I completely understand.

    • Queen of Awesome November 29, 2011 at 3:01 PM #

      I’m glad I’m not alone. I’m going to my local hippy grocery store tonight. Maybe I’ll find something more natural there. If so, I’ll post the brand. If not, I’m making it myself!

  2. Rembrandt December 30, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    Where did you find Schepp’s Egg Nog? The one in the green carton. in 2010 Schepp’s sold out to Oak Farms. Oak Farms is eliminating all Schepp’s products slowly but surely and Christmas 2011 saw the demise of Schepp’s egg nog. Oak Farms egg nog is inferior. I would have traded sports for a couple of gallons of Schepp’s regardless of what was put in it.

    • Queen of Awesome December 31, 2011 at 6:30 PM #

      This post is over a year old. At the start of the rollout, I believe.

Leave a Reply

