Crumpets and Tea

17 Aug

The grocery store was out of my favorite sourdough English muffins. So I opted for the crumpets.

After eating four of them over the course of a week, I’m still not quite sure what they are or how to properly dress them.

A crumpet is pretty  much an edible sponge. In fact, I’m sure that’s what it is. It has giant pores and a rubbery texture. And there’s hardly a chance of it falling apart when wet.

One morning, I nuked it for a few seconds to get it hot. It really wasn’t that great. Reminded me of a sea scallop only with the wrong flavor.

This morning, I toasted the crap out of it. It was less spongy, which is good. But still kind of creepy. I decided to butter it to death (despite my normal feelings about butter).

It was a little scary, because even with so many porous holes, the crumpet didn’t soak up any of the butter. It just hung out on top like a glaze.

I ate it anyway and washed it down with some green tea. Because wasting food makes me feel guilty (thanks Mom and Dad; I fully blame my high school chubbiness on you).

So I suppose I’ll eat the remaining two crumpets. That or use them to wash the bathtub.

It's a muffin. It's a sponge. No, it's a crumpet.

4 Responses to “Crumpets and Tea”

  1. Carol August 17, 2010 at 6:28 PM #

    And now for a lesson in British food…toast crumpet until slightly golden on top, apply butter so it soaks through the holes and then add a smattering of Marmite, eat while still hot mmmmmm 🙂

    • Queen of Awesome August 17, 2010 at 8:09 PM #

      Marmite, eh? Never heard of it. But surely one of my “hippy” grocery stores will carry it.

      Wish me luck. And thanks for the tip.

  2. Carol August 17, 2010 at 9:19 PM #

    It’s a British product and very much an acquired taste seeing as it’s yeast extract 🙂

  3. DirtyCanadian August 18, 2010 at 1:06 AM #

    I love crumpets. In fact, they are one of only a few things that I WILL put butter on. Carrie is right, they must be toasted just right – crunchy on the outside, still soft inside. And then I like to put a healthy dose of cinnamon sugar on top…mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

