Strawberry daze.

3 Aug

If you judged my eating habits solely on the posts I have written so far, you’d think all I eat is sugar. And bacon. In reality, I eat far more fruits and veggies than I let on. It’s just more satisfying to write about the bad stuff. I mean, let’s face it, a post about organic mixed greens isn’t going to make anyone’s tummy growl.

But no candy tastes as sweet as a sun-warmed strawberry.

The other day I picked some up at lunch and forgot them in my car. When I opened the door at the end of the day, the heady scent of sweet, ripe strawberries rushed to greet me. My stomach growled and my mouth puckered in anticipation. Determined to wait until I got home to indulge, I started my engine.

About 2 miles in, I hit traffic. I glanced at the strawberries sitting next to me. So red. So ripe. So what if I hadn’t washed them yet? They were from Whole Foods. They were organic. I snatched a plump one from the top. It was still warm. I bit into it. Strawberry juice ran down my arm. A sigh of pure deliciousness escaped my lips. I closed my eyes and reached for another.

I was no longer on the 405 at rush hour on a Friday. I was in the middle of a strawberry field on a hot summer day. I could feel the hay underneath my legs and the sun on my back. I could almost hear my mother telling me to stop eating all the strawberries or there’d be none left for jam. (Mmmmmm…strawberry jam.)

I hadn’t moved more than half a mile in half an hour and I couldn’t have been happier.  I wanted to roll down my window and pass a strawberry to the harried looking woman to my left. But I didn’t.

Mostly because I’d finished the whole pint.

2 Responses to “Strawberry daze.”

  1. Mike August 3, 2010 at 8:39 PM #

    Aww man, but I want to hear about some fruit and veggie adventures! Here’s a fun task for you – pick 3 weird and exotic fruits or veggies that you’ve never had and think your audience has not had and give us a review.

  2. DirtyCanadian August 3, 2010 at 10:33 PM #

    Now this is a challenge that I can get behind! You’re on. Look for my first adventure in the produce section later this week.

    For now, I’m off to Pinkberry.

Leave a Reply

