Let them eat cheesecake.

29 Jul

Believe it or not, I’m not the biggest fan of cake.

Perhaps it’s because countless blocks of grocery store sheet cake were thumped down in front of me when I was younger.

Ick. I much preferred the ice cream. And I still do (although as I get older, I’ve had many tastier cakes and I’m learning to like them).

But there is one cake that I know will be the death of me.

You guessed it. Cheesecake.

I don’t care what kind. I don’t care where from. I’m pretty convinced that there’s no such thing as a bad cheesecake.

And that in itself is a bad thing.

There are … correction … were four slices of creamy cheesecake in my fridge. Doesn’t matter how they got there. Because in my blackout, I didn’t care.

Because  yesterday, four slices quickly turned into three before I knew what I was doing.

And then after dinner, my husband and I devoured another. I wept as he took the last bite. And then I licked the plate when his head was turned.

As as I type this, I can’t help but think of the remaining pieces. In the next room

Hopefully just writing about those soft and gooey slices will be enough to hold off the monster lurking in my gut. The creature preying on the confections in my fridge.

Damn working from home.

At least it’s not a whole cheesecake. Or my husband would come home to my bloated corpse on the kitchen floor. Smiling for eternity. With crumbs in my teeth.

There. That thought should keep me safe.

For the next twenty minutes.

3 Responses to “Let them eat cheesecake.”

  1. DirtyCanadian July 29, 2010 at 5:09 PM #

    I’ve never really paid much attention to cheesecake despite the fact that most people would swim in it. But this post makes me wish I was working from YOUR home so that I could have one of those pieces. Although it sounds like I’d have to fight you for it.

  2. Queen of Awesome July 29, 2010 at 8:19 PM #

    I can’t promise I wouldn’t aim for your eyes. If you can’t see, I have the advantage.

    So far, the slices are still there. So far …

    • DirtyCanadian July 30, 2010 at 1:58 AM #

      Maybe I will go get my OWN cheesecake and then we can have a cheesecake eating video chat! YEAH! I love the interwebs.

Leave a Reply

