I don’t care who invented quesadillas.

12 Jul

I’m not one to shy away from ethnic cuisine.

But even a semi-cultured eater as myself is somewhat embarrassed to admit that my favorite Mexican treat is the quesadilla.

Mmm. I get excited just thinking about them.

In fact, it’s not even nine o’clock in the morning yet, and I’m getting Phantom Cheese Pain — where my body sets off the involuntary responses to cheese (watering mouth, dilated pupils, and grabby hands) even when cheese isn’t present.

I don’t even know if quesadillas are real Mexican food, and quite frankly, I don’t give a flying tomato. I just thank luchadores that every Tex Mex restaurant in the entire state has a variety of pan fried, cheesy tortillas on the menu.

And I should know. Because I’ve been to over a hundred Tex Mex restaurants in my life. And I’ve ordered the quesadillas at every one of them.

This weekend found me crunching into a veggie quesadilla in my humble home town. I slathered that baby in guacamole (mmm) and salsa (mmmmmm) and it got so gooey, I had to eat it with a knife and fork. Then two nights later, I had a salty spinach work of art in a little town south of Austin. And it was just what the doctor ordered. Right before a cardiograph.

Quesadillas are simple. They’re melted cheese sandwiched between tortillas. And they’re genius.

And if you want to make them even better, follow them with a steamy hot sopapilla.

Ugh, when is it going to be lunchtime!

One Response to “I don’t care who invented quesadillas.”

  1. DirtyCanadian July 12, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

    I was enjoying a lovely, healthy breakfast of egg whites and fruit when I started reading this post. Halfway through, my eggs started to taste like sandpaper and the fruit like it was rotten.

    Now I want cheesy, melty, guacamole-covered quesadillas. Good thing I worked out this morning cause I think I know what I’m having for lunch.

Leave a Reply

